Undecided

So much has happened in the past couple months.  Less and less time to skate.  With the new addition to out family, I have been even busier.  Not only with the baby, but helping to coach my daughter’s softball team.  In addition, at work we have expanded our program, without really expanding out staff. 

image

Finally set up the Decomposed freestyle board.  A Decomposed Marco Sassi 7.25 x 28, Tracker 106 with extra stiff Khiro bushings and Rollerbones 98a 57 mm with some new Oust Moc 5 Tech bearings.  It looks sick as hell.

image

I really turned it into a science project.  I had difficulty finding bearing spacers that fit the Rollerbones properly, after 3 trips to roller derby shop. Eventually had to use a stack of speed ring washers.  Then I put the extra bearing spacers between the wheels and trucks to square them up to the rails.  Ironic, but effective.  I have been wanting to try Rollerbones rollerskate wheels, hoping that they might slide like Bones STF wheels. 

image

I really want to like the board.  However, the only problem is I can’t do much of anything on it.  The smaller wheelbase and where the trucks are relative to the pocket makes freestyle footwork very snappy.  The board just whips around,  too well.  It’s difficult to control.  It’s good for no hand pogos, as the the short wheelbase doesn’t allow the kingpin to dig in my knee.  Plus I put 1.5 inch mounting hardware I need the inside truck holes, for “Pogo bolts”.  The baseplate Tracker trucks are rounded and my foot slides off easily while doing truckstands or pogos.  Railflips pop really good too.  And of course, it has a nice balance for 360 spins.  Yet that’s it.  Not really able to do any other tricks on it.

image

Granted I haven’t had a lot of time to skate it, but in the past month I have not been able to do any of the other flatground tricks I love doing, both new and old school.  If I spent a lot of time on it I’m sure I could get used to it – eventually.  The new wheels are incredible stable in rail, but they don’t slide like I had hoped.  Maybe the 101a duro would suit my style better.  I really, really want to like the board.  I don’t have anything bad to say about Decomposed skateboards, other than it just doesn’t work for me.

I put the trusty Mode Dragonfly back together.  Even after over a month, it felt good to back on that board. Ollies, flip tricks, well controlled footwork is worth the painful pogos and less poppy railflip.  For now I’ll keep the Rollerbones wheels, but I don’t think they will last long – the sidewall is wearing down fast.  It won’t be too long until the axle is on the concrete.

image

Nothing ventured , nothing ventured.   So I spent around $100 for a deck and wheels that I’m not crazy about.  If there is a bright side though, I am ready to commit to a company and a board , at least in regards to freestyle.  I think from now on, I will be skating Mode 7.4 decks.  Mode is a small American owned company.  I believe they get their wood from Eastbilt, another American owned company.  The graphics are all done by hand using silk-screening, something that just isn’t really done anymore.  I hate to sound like an old man, but I am.  There’s just something about the screened graphic that reminds me of the good ole days. 

What is more, it would appear that I am developing my own distinctive style.  A mix of old school freestyle with some streetstyle flatground, almost like I had hoped when I restarted this skateboarding adventure over three years ago. 

I have really fallen behind in regards to journaling progress.  My flatground ollies remain good, the really good ones maybe knee high;  however my timing isnt great when it comes to getting over or on something, maybe a little higher than a foot high ledge, which is still respectable. FS as well as BS 180s are okay.  FS and BS pop shoves are great. Kickflips are more consistent, while heelflip remain hit or miss. Varial flips are about 50%.  Tre flips are still completely evading me, occasionally I’ll land an unintended 360 pop shove.  Backside flips are also still just out of reach, but so close.  Rotating and flipping every time, but I still need to jump higher and work on keeping the board under me. Once I get backside flips, I will then start to chase the tres more aggressively again.  Most times I just do all these on my freestyle board.  Usually at the end of my short sessions I’ll briefly hop on the 8″ street board to see if I can do things higher/ better.  Next post, I’ll have to go into detail regarding the freestyle trick repertoire.

Unexpectedly, the practice on the Mode translates to the 8 inch street deck.  My overall board control is much better, I have better balance, more awareness of my center.   I was very surprised that on my monthly visit to the skatepark, I can still boardslide and lock in 50/50s despite no street practice.   All of that is fantastic, but it creates muddy water once again.  However, it seems best to stay the course and focus on freestyle and enjoy the occasional street/park session.

Leave a comment